Exercise Videos- Love ‘Em or Hate ‘Em..

In fashion, out of fashion, so goes everything. I remember the 80’s (uh oh…dating myself here) and the proliferation of workout videos- Jazzercise, Calisthenics, on and on.  Everyone was doing workout videos. Have you looked at any of those videos today? Very funny stuff. Anyhow, it seemed to me that for the 90’s to the early 2000’s workout videos were pretty much under the radar. It wasn’t really that cool or desirable to do a workout video (if anyone is reading this and disagrees, please enlighten me otherwise). Now, there are TONS of workout videos everywhere. Not just videos, but sets of videos- whole programs to change your life forever. P90x, Insanity, Jillian Michaels videos, Brazilian Butt Lift, Turbo Fire, Chalene Extreme, etc. Wow, it’s dizzying.

Well, I have to say, I definitely partook in the craze of the late 80’s (I was VERY young, thank you very much…), but I never really got hooked. Going to the gym (in the 90’s) was really the only way to get myself motivated to actually work out (wait, who am I fooling, I spent most of the 90’s slanging booze in smoky bars!). I did a lot of gym workouts in the early 2000’s, BUT, I have to say, this new video fitness craze has me hooked (and no, I’m not advertising anything or being paid by anyone). I need structure and the sets work well for me. I started with Jillian Michael’s ‘Ripped in 30′ and was able to stick with it for the 30 days because it was a set schedule and she’s sort of like a drill sergeant, which I really like. Then, I felt like I wanted to move on to something even more challenging so I bought the Turbo Fire set from Beachbody- wow, that was really not right for me. That motivational cheerleading giddy style felt super patronizing and frankly, quite annoying (please, if you read this and love Chalene..that’s fine, she’s great for some people, but NOT for me AT ALL). Then I traded in and went for the Insanity set with Sean T- Perfect for me! Things I loved about it:  A set schedule that doesn’t get old for 9 full weeks, a timer that shows you how much time you have left for each section, don’t need any equipment at all and very challenging! I finished that in GREAT shape, but the truth of the matter is that there is no way I could do that program as a maintenance program on a regular basis, and even though I tried to just do a video here or there, without the structure of a daily schedule and long term goal, I failed! So, enter the newest group of dvd’s from Sean T- Focus T-25. Yes! This is exactly what I wanted and needed. Same multi-week structure (10 weeks total), but each of the videos is a blessedly short 25 minutes (instead of the 1hr of Insanity) . I’m on week 3 right now and I LOVE it! It’s over before you know it and I still have time and energy to go for a run later in the day.

My conclusion on exercise videos today- love ’em!

3 responses to “Exercise Videos- Love ‘Em or Hate ‘Em..

  1. I didn’t know Sean had a 25 min workout. Ohhh I’m so excited!! I’m like you, I need a short workout to stick with it. I wish I could commit an hour a day for a butt kicking workout. This is awesome. Thanks!!

    • Yes, it came out very recently and I jumped on it the minute I saw it. I really feel like I get just as good a workout as the longer ones. I’m not a believer in all that Shakeology business though and supplements, etc. I think good nutrition and whole foods are a lot better!

  2. Pingback: Day 5 of 30 | 50 Things Before I Turn 50·

Leave a Reply

